What are the components of QRIS?

September 29, 2015

The best resource for answering this question comes from the California Department of Education. Their Quality Continuum Framework lists the Common QRIS Elements as:

Child Development and School Readiness

  1. Early Learning and Development Standards to include developmentally, culturally, and linguistically appropriate teaching strategies, interactions and environments.
  2. Comprehensive Assessment System to include a developmental and behavioral screening with follow-up and ongoing observational child assessment.
  3. Health Promotion Practices to include mental health and health screening.

Teachers and Teaching

  1. Early Childhood Educator Qualifications
  2. Effective Teacher-Child Interactions

Program and Environment

  1. Licensing and Regulatory Requirements to include both DSS/CCL Title 22 and CDE Title 5 regulatory requirements.
  2. Program Administration and Leadership
  3. Family Engagement
  4. Effective Data Practices

More information on QRIS and additional resources can be found on the California Department of Education’s website.